Santa Cruz Division

Santa Cruz County Fire

The Santa Cruz Division (Santa Cruz County Fire Department) provides service in 266 square miles of the un-incorporated areas of the county, not protected by other local government fire agencies. County Fire is a full service fire agency that provides fire protection, emergency medical service, fire prevention, fire marshal, and public education. The department responds to over 2500 emergency incidents a year.

The division protects the following communities of: Davenport, Swanton, Bonny Doon, Los Cumbres, South Skyline, Burrell, Loma Prieta, Corralitos, Soquel, and Pajaro Dunes

The County of Santa Cruz contracts (Since 1948) with CAL FIRE for administration, support services, and line personnel. All paid personnel of County Fire are CAL FIRE employees, funded by the county under contractual agreement with the state. This arrangement delivers effective services though the best use of available resources.

The Santa Cruz Division is a “Combination Type” Division having both paid and volunteer personnel. In total, County Fire operates six volunteer fire stations and eight paid stations.
They are:

Fire Station 21 (Saratoga Summit) Paid
Fire Station 23 (Jamison Creek) Paid Seasonal Station
Fire Station 29 (South Skyline) Volunteer
Fire Station 31 (Fall Creek) Paid
Fire Station 32 (Bonny Doon) Volunteer
Fire Station 33(Big Creek) Paid
Fire Station 34(McDermott) Volunteer
Fire Station 36 (Loma Prieta) Volunteer
Fire Station 37(Davenport) Volunteer
Fire Station 42(Pajaro Dunes) Paid
Fire Station 43(Soquel) Paid Seasonal Station
Fire Station 47(Burrell) Paid
Fire Station 49(Corralitos) Paid/Volunteer

County Fire provides and receives mutual aid from and to all agencies within Santa Cruz County.

Pajaro Valley Fire Protection District

The Pajaro Valley Fire Protection District provides the fire protection services to the unincorporated portions of south Santa Cruz County. It is the largest fire protection district in the county serving 47 square miles and 18,000 residents.

Through a cooperative agreement with the State of California (CAL FIRE), the District operates one fire station to provide the emergency services: Fire Station 45 is located on the east side of the city of Watsonville.

The District has a contract with e Watsonville Fire Department to provide emergency services to portions of the Pajaro Valley Fire Protection District.
1 Battalion Chief
1 Deputy Fire Marshal
2 Fire Captains
4 Fire Apparatus Engineers
2 Fire Fighters

The station is staffed with 1 Fire Captain and 1 Fire Apparatus Engineer and 1 Fire Fighter; Shift personnel work 24 hours a day 3 days a week/72 hours a week.
In addition to traditional fire service, the District provides:
Advanced Scope Emergency Medical Technicians, Cliff Rescue, Water Rescue, Confined Space Rescue, Vehicle and Residential Lock-Out

The Pajaro Valley Fire Protection District responds to approximately 930 calls for service a year.
The Pajaro Valley Fire Protection District Board of Directors is composed of five publicly elected and/or appointed representatives. As a group, these representatives establish policy that is implemented by Staff.
The present Board members are listed below:
Sarah Chauvet
Celeste Freedman
Dave Martone
Jake Retz
Kendel White

Santa Cruz Fire Marshal Office

The Santa Cruz County Fire Marshal’s Office and the Pajaro Valley Fire Marshal’s Office are responsible for the enforcement of fire related state and local laws and ordinances as adopted by both the State of California and the County of Santa Cruz. The fire marshal’s office performs a variety of plan reviews and inspections pursuant to Titles 19, 24 and 25 of the California Code of Regulations. These plans include building, fire alarms, sprinkler systems, water tanks and hydrants for both commercial and residential occupancies. The office also performs annual and licensing inspections, including schools and home day cares, required by Title 19 of the California Code of Regulations. The office is staffed by a deputy fire marshal and one fire inspector.

Santa Cruz County Fire and all fire districts within the county adopted a fire sprinkler ordinance in 1989. Since the inception of this ordinance, fire sprinklers protect almost every new structure and many existing structures. The installation and required testing of new fire protection equipment falls under the direction of the fire department and is part of the fire code. The office provides planning input for developers and plan checks and inspection services at the various levels required by the County of Santa Cruz Planning Department.

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The California Department of Forestry and Fire Protecton is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact us here.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]